School Council

All government schools in Victoria have a School Council. They are legally formed bodies that are given powers to set the key directions of a school within the centrally provided guidelines. In doing this, a School Council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school provides for its students.

There are three possible categories of membership: A mandated elected Parent category; a mandated elected DET employee category and an optional Community member category. The term of office for all members is two years. Half of the members must retire each year, creating vacancies for the annual School Council elections.

Members of our 2017 School Council are:


Mr. David Watts

Vice President

Mr. Tony Staley

Parent Representative

Mr. Lindsay King

Parent Representative

Mrs. Kate Schultz

Parent Representative

Mr. Brian Anderson

Parent Representative

Ms. Tanya Megaw

DET Representative

Ms. Fiona McLaurin

DET Representative

Ms. Bronwyn O’Meara

DET Representative

Mr. David Lyons

Student Representative

Ms. Kayla Henkel

Student Representative

Mr. Riley Flanigan

Student Representative

Ms. Tierney Evans

Student Representative

Mr. Lachlan Ferguson

Community Representative

Mr. Michael Wink

Executive Officer

Ms. Jane Mersey

Our School Council members provide important viewpoints and have valuable skills that can help shape the direction of our school. Both parents and staff who become active members of School Council find their involvement satisfying, and parents may also find that their children feel a greater sense of belonging.

70-80 School Road, Trafalgar, 3824

ABN: 68 394 815 266